Kosher Dietary Regulations

Kosher Dietary Regulations

Kashrut is the body of Jewish law dealing with what foods we can and cannot eat and how those foods must be prepared and eaten. "Kashrut" comes from the Hebrew root Kaf-Shin-Reish, meaning fit, proper or correct. It is the same root as the more commonly known word "kosher," which describes food that meets these standards. The word "kosher" can also be used, and often is used, to describe ritual objects that are made in accordance with Jewish law and are fit for ritual use.

Kosher dietary laws are observed all year round, not just during Pesach (Passover). There are additional dietary restrictions during Pesach, and many foods that are kosher for year-round use are not "kosher for Passover." A bagel, for example, can be kosher for year-round use but is certainly not kosher for Passover! Foods that are kosher for Passover, however, are always kosher for year-round use.

General RulesAlthough the details of kashrut are extensive, the laws all derive from a few fairly simple, straightforward rules:

1. Certain animals may not be eaten at all. This restriction includes the flesh, organs, eggs and milk of the forbidden animals.

2. Of the animals that may be eaten, the birds and mammals must be killed in accordance with Jewish law.

3. All blood must be drained from meat and poultry or broiled out of it before it is eaten.

4. Certain parts of permitted animals may not be eaten.

5. Fruits and vegetables are permitted, but must be inspected for bugs (which cannot be eaten).

6. Meat (the flesh of birds and mammals) cannot be eaten with dairy. Fish, eggs, fruits, vegetables and grains can be eaten with either meat or dairy. (According to some views, fish may not be eaten with meat).

7. Utensils (including pots and pans and other cooking surfaces) that have come into contact with meat may not be used with dairy, and vice versa. Utensils that have come into contact with non-kosher food may not be used with kosher food. This applies only where the contact occurred while the food was hot.

8. Grape products made by non-Jews may not be eaten.

8. Grape products made by non-Jews may not be eaten.

Want to know more about Kosher Certification   Contact Us!


In the past two decades, the demand for kosher food products in the United States and around the world has greatly impacted the food industry, Kosher India has been established to provide kosher certification to Indian industry. Today kosher India is a prominent name across the globe for kosher certification.

Areas We Serve

kosher certification in Vapi, kosher certification in Vadodara, kosher certification in Delhi, Kosher certification in Nashik, kosher certification in Bangalore, kosher certification in Gurgoan, kosher certification in Noida, kosher certification in Goa, kosher certification in Mumbai, kosher certification in Bhopal, kosher certification in Kanpur, kosher certification in Pune, kosher certification in Rurki


  Email us at:

  +91-9654656507, 9999974494

   517, Jaina Tower, District center, Janak Puri, New Delhi - 110058 INDIA

Follow us